14 students win regional Scholastic Art Awards
14 students win regional Scholastic Art Awards

Fourteen Santa Catalina School students claimed a total of 21 awards in the 2020 Scholastic Art Awards for the California Central Coast Region. They submitted works in the categories of photography, painting, digital art, and drawing and illustration.

[See all of their winning works.]

The California Central Coast Art Region is the largest and most competitive in the country, with 25 counties stretching from Monterey County in the south to Napa in the north and across the width of the state.

Santa Catalina students won in three categories: Gold Key, Silver Key, and Honorable Mention. Gold Key works automatically go on to national judging; national medalists will be announced on March 16.

In addition, Gold and Silver Key winners will have their work on display at the Pacific Grove Art Center from March 1–30. March is Youth Art Month.

Congratulations to art teachers Jaime Ball and Claire Lerner, and the following students:

Gold Key
Dylan Barry-Schoen '21 — Photography, "Ana"
Holly Liu '22 — Painting, "Time Preservation"
Samantha Scattini '21 — Digital Art, "Hidden Mirage," and Photography, "Simple Memory"

Silver Key
Hailey Boe '20 — Photography, "A Handpicked Morning"
Gianna Borges '22 — Painting, "Afternoon Light"
Milan Coleman '22 — Photography, "Early Mornings"
Hannah Davis '21 — Photography, "Smoke and Mirrors"
Harper Hanson '22 — Drawing & Illustration, "Expressionist"

Honorable Mention
Dylan Barry-Schoen '21 — Photography, "Gray Whale Cove"
Gianna Borges '22 — Drawing & Illustration, "Self Portrait" (two pieces)
Georgina Burton '20 — Painting, "Koi Pond"
Anna Cole '21 — Photography, "A Snowy Overlook"
Nicole Korinetz '21 — Photography, "Life on the Reef"
Kylie Ludviksen '20 — Painting, "Papa" and "Half Asleep"
Sofia Marquez '20 — Photography, "Still Conversation" (two pieces)
Emily Oh '21 — Digital Art, "Alive" and "Glass"

An opening reception for the P.G. Art Center show will be held 7:00–9:00 p.m. March 6. A closing reception from 1:00–4:00 p.m. March 28 will recognize all winners in attendance.

More News