Change of Office ceremony ushers in new Student Senate
Change of Office ceremony ushers in new Student Senate

On May 22, Student Senate officers for the 2016-17 school year passed the torch, almost literally, to their replacements for next year.

In a Change of Office ceremony in the Rosary Chapel, the departing officers handed candles to their successors as outgoing President Kira Cruz '17 read off their names.

Senate elections began in late April when candidates for freshman representatives and school-wide positions gave speeches during Assembly. Voting took place immediately after, and the Student Body President was determined in a runoff. The sophomore, junior, and senior class officers were announced in May.

In a change for 2017-18, the position of Day Student Coordinator was changed to Social Affairs/Public Relations Coordinator, whose main job is to oversee the student-run snack shack, The Grazing Patch.

Congratulations to the 2017-18 Student Senate!

Student Body President: Ana Leon Nunez

Spiritual Life Coordinator: Iris Kang

Social Affairs/Public Relations Coordinator: Talia Varjian

Activities Coordinator: Jessica Almos

Freshman Resident Student Representative: Sofie Wang

Freshman Day Student Representative: Kayla Ginette

Sophomore Class Officers:

  • President: Candace Wong
  • Vice President: India Gonzales
  • Secretary: Cooper Clements

Junior Class Officers:

  • President: Emily Hayes
  • Vice President: Amelia Downs
  • Secretary: Vanessa Colin

Senior Class Officers:

  • President: Ariana Fadel
  • Vice President: Emmi Rivera
  • Secretary: Danuisca Rangan

(Not pictured: Cooper Clements)

More News